Coffee on the Couch

by grahammcnally

Last night, after a long day, I was sitting on the couch, having a coffee. Both boys wanted to read books, and I was indulging them. However, as is often the case, reading on the couch also involves climbing on the back to stand in the window, crawling over the arm to ‘flip’ onto the seats – reading, boy styles.

But I wanted my coffee. So I was drinking it. I heard the small voice in my head saying “Really? Best plan?” I imagined the look of a couch with massive coffee stains.

And then it happened. Our little guy made a leap up towards the back. I quickly switched the coffee from my right hand to my left in just the nick of time. Then, I sat there smugly thinking, “That’s right, I can do this.”

At which point, he squirreled onto my lap. Onto both arms.

Lets just say that my project focus may have changed.

Slip covers anyone?

 

 

